Vacation for One

After many years of packing for two, I am now packing for one.  Logically, the job should be easier, faster, more efficient.  In reality, my brain goes into a funk and I arrive at the family time-share in Atlantic City minus a tooth brush, a hat and a few other Jersey shore essentials.  I promise myself that I will pick-up what I need tomorrow on the busy part of the boardwalk.  For now I sit across from an empty chair at a table for two and look out over the gently rolling ocean.  My spirit lulled by the drifting water and the almost mystical sound of the Indi-rock music shifts from funk to tranquility.  It’s been a year now since the demise of my spouse.  Finallly, I’m glad that I was unable to sell my time-share.

A few weeks after my husband’s death, I paid some company to advertize the sale of my time share as I was afraid that being alone at our “chill out” apartment right on the ocean would sink me into dispair.  The bad thing is that the so-called “Ad and Sell” companytook my money and never called back; the good thing is that for one week of the year, the ocean waves and the Chair Climbers ( the singing group according to the waitress) provide good company on my vacation for one.  My son will be glad to greet his mellowed out mother when she returns.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

