A Fan of David Brooks

Decades ago, when my husband and I first married, a native New Yorker, my husband introduced me to reading the NYT at the breakfast table each morning. At first, I contented myself with scanning the news, the business section and, on the weekends, the Travel and Book sections. One morning I discovered the Op-Ed page. My morning read lengthened a bit. As a result, I had to get up a little earlier in order to get to work on time. I enjoyed the wit and humor of Gail Collins and Maureen Dowd; the passion of Friedman and Klugman. Little by little, however, I became a fan of David Brooks.

It appears to me that Mr. Brooks does his research, meditates on the subject, then, expresses what he has digested into a coherent essay to which he infuses his mental and spiritual experience into the facts that he has painstakingly gathered. Mr. Brooks shares the names of those from whom he has gathered his information with the reader in order that the reader, too, may reflect critically in order to form his./her own opinion.

In an age of glib, emotive sarcasm, and recently added political rudeness, in written and visual media, it is a relief to find a mind that respects the questions and conclusions of others enough to think about them in order to enlighten his questions and conclusions. That Mr. Brooks shares his process with his readers improves the quality of life for all. I am proud to say that I am a fan of David Brooks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

