Slowing Down

Approaching my 8th decade, I have noticed that the ocean of life seems to have become calmer. Not only must I move more slowly over relatively easy terrain, I seem to process incoming information more sluggishly. More subtly, my emotional responses to terrifying and/or enlightening situations have changed to lower registers. I am not surprised by the physical changes because society, in its own way, has prepared me for them through the media, or through personal experience. I did not expect the white caps upon which my feelings use to ride to reduce themselves to swells. Do I have only ripples to look forward to? I suppose that it could be worse. My entire life might have been dead calm. Sigh.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

